Our Government > Councilmembers > Viviana L. Russell > Community Spotlight

Community Spotlight

3/16/2011 - Eighteenth Annual May W. Newburger Women's Roll of Honor

This years festivities took place at the banquet hall of Roslyn Claremont Hotel on Wednesday, March 16.  Thirteen women were inducted into this prestigious honor representing Westbury, Port Washington, Mineola, and Great Neck.  This spotlight event began in 1994 and now in 2011 the list has grown to 593 Women on this Roll of Honor.  With nominations coming in from women and men alike all across long island, this list of 13 outstanding and notable women includes Evelyn Atanas, Alice Chan, Helen T. Chin, Sara E. Danzi, Elaine Kennedy, Victoria Laura, Phoebe Lazorous, Elise Ledda, Jean Pierce, Dorothy Royal, Julia Shields, Jane Thomas and Edith L. Mendel.  Since its conception this event, open to the public, encourages the community at large to come together and celebrate a group of women who in their own unique way cultivate a brighter and more blissful world to live in!

Picture #1 L to Rt. Town of North Hempstead Supervisor Jon Kaiman, WROH Honoree Elaine Kennedy, and Town of North Hempstead Councilwoman Viviana Russell

Picture # 2 L to Rt. Nassau County Leg. Richard Nicollelo, ToNH Councilwoman Viviana Russell, Town Clerk Leslie Gross, WROH Honoree Dorothy Royal, TNH Supervisor Jon Kaiman, and ToNH Receiver of Taxes Charles Berman

Picture #3 L to Rt. Women's Roll Of Honor 2011 group photo