2018-2019 Enhanced STAR Property Tax Exemption Application

(Nassau County does not charge a fee to file this application.)
Any alteration of this application may result in a denial.
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Property Identification (Co-op apartment owners must attach a copy of the CERTIFICATE OF SHARES)
TOWN SD SECTION BLOCK LOT CA# or BLDG.# TAX UNIT# wn
For Condos & Co-ops only R
Deed (Liber)# Deed (Page)#
Proof of Age (Indicate documents submitted with application as proof of age of all OWNERS)
=
[ ] BIRTH CERTIFICATE [ ] PASSPORT
[ ] BAPTISMAL CERTIFICATE [ ] DRIVER’S LICENSE
Proof of Primary Residence (Indicate document submitted as proof of your primary residence) —
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|:| 2016 SOCIAL SECURITY 1099 (End of Year Statement) |:| CURRENT CAR REGISTRATION
|:| 2016 NY STATE INCOME TAX RETURN
List the address(es) of all additional real estate that you own, either entirely or in part. (Attach additional sheets)
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Total STAR Income $ (Use worksheet on the back of this application) @
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A copy of your 2016 Federal/NYS Income Tax Return(s) must be attached to this application. o **
&
If you would like to continue receiving the Enhanced STAR Exemption without having to re-apply w
and submit copies of your tax return(s) to the Assessor every year, you are invited to sign up for g
the New York State STAR Income Verification Program option by entering your Social Security g ;T>'
number(s) below. To use this option, you must file a New York State Income Tax Return. b é
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CERTIFICATION (All Primary Resident Owners Must Sign)

Caution: Anyone who misrepresents his or her primary residence, age, or income will be subject to a penalty of the greater of $100 or
20% of the improperly received tax savings (not to exceed $2,500), prohibited from receiving the STAR exemption for six years, and may
also be subject to criminal prosecution.

| (we) certify that all of the above information is correct, that the property listed above is owned by me (us) and is my (our)
primary residence and that my (our) 2016 income was less than $86,000. | (we) understand it is my (our) obligation to notify the
assessor if | (we) relocate to another primary residence and to provide any documentation of eligibility that is required.

Signature Date of Birth L] Date
Status

(If signed by an Attorney-in-fact, a PHOTOCOPY of the Power of Attorney must be included with this application.)




FOR ASSESSOR'’S USE ONLY

Proof of Income [ | Yes [ ] No

Senior Additional [ ] Yes [ | No

RP-425-IVP [ | Yes [ ]| No

Approved [ | Yes [] No

Assessor’s Signature:

Date:

Comments:

When your primary residence or the Deed to the property changes, you must notify the Assessor in writing,
within 60 days of the date of transfer, to remove any exemption(s) on a previous residence prior to filing the new application.

The Enhanced STAR Exemption is not transferable.

APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS

1. Fill out the application completely.

2. Attach proof of age, proof of primary residence, all pages of your 2016 Federal or NYS Income Tax Return(s) and any
additional information required in the checklist below.

3. Submit this signed application and attach photocopies of the documentation listed below to the Department
of Assessment on or before the taxable status date of January 2, 2018. Please DO NOT SEND ORIGINAL documents.

ALL PAGES OF YOUR 2016 FEDERAL OR STATE INCOME TAX RETURN(S) (Required for all owners) If you are
married and filed separately, include both tax returns. If you were not required to file an income tax return, you
must attach proof of all taxable income (i.e. 1099 Statements of Interest; Schedule E; IRA Earnings; Dividends;
Pension; W-2; etc.) An IRS printout may be required. The Federal or NYS Income Tax Return must have the
applicant(s) name, address and Social Security number(s) on it.

PROOF OF AGE (Birth Certificate; Baptismal Certificate; Driver’s License; Military ID or Passport)

COPY OF THE ENTIRE TRUST (If your property is in a Trust, all beneficiaries must qualify for the exemption)

COPY OF THE DEATH CERTIFICATE (If one of the owners on the Deed is deceased)

COPY OF DIVORCE OR LEGAL SEPARATION PAPERS (If the property is in both names)

COPY OF THE PROBATED WILL (If the sole owner on the Deed is deceased)

LETTER FROM HEALTH CARE FACILITY (If owner(s) are residing in a health care facility)

POWER OF ATTORNEY (If you are signing as an attorney-in-fact)

The definition of income is based on your Federal Adjusted Gross Income (AGl) less any taxable IRA distribution. Use the
worksheet column below that corresponds to your tax return. Enter the total STAR income on the front of the application.

Federal Taxable
2016 Tax F TAR | Worksh
016 Tax Form Adjusted Gross Income IRA Distribution s ncome Worksheet
IRS Form 1040 Line 37 Line 15b )
Adjusted Gross Income:
IRS Form 1040-A Line 21 Line 11b minus (-)
IRS Form 1040-EZ Line 4 No adjustment needed | Taxable IRA distribution:
for IRAs
NYS Form IT-201 Line 19 Line 9 STAR INCOME TOTAL =

Taxpayers are advised that there are safeguards in place to protect individual tax return information.
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Para asistencia en Espariol llame al (516) 571-2020
NASSAU COUNTY DEPARTMENT OF ASSESSMENT

240 Old Country Road, 4" Floor, Mineola, New York 11501 - (516) 571-1500




